History of the ASV

Over the last 20 years, ASV has achieved notable advancements in the field of veterinary shelter medicine. This timeline represents those advancements. As we grow, we will continue to update our guidelines and educational platforms to evolve long into the future. 


Year President
2020-2021 Chumkee Aziz, DVM, DABVP (shelter medicine practice)
2018-2019 Erin Doyle, DVM, DABVP (shelter medicine practice)
2017 Elise Gingrich, DVM, MPH, MS, DACVPM, DABVP (shelter medicine practice)
2015-2016 Brian DiGangi, DVM, MS, DABVP (canine/feline, shelter medicine practice)
2013-2014 Stephanie Janeczko, DVM, MS, DABVP (canine/feline), CAWA
2012 Natalle Isaza, DVM
2011 Martha Smith Blackmore, DVM
2010 Jeanette O'Quin, DVM, MPH-VPH
2008-2009 Miranda Spindel, DVM, MS
2007 Bonnie Yoffe-Sharp, DVM
2005-2006 Lila Miller, DVM
2003-2004  Julie Dinnage, DVM